ISO 45001:2018

What you need to know about ISO 45001:2018

A new standard in occupational workplace health and safety has been published as of March 2018. This standard, ISO 45001:2018, will eventually replace OHSAS 18001 in three years time.

The standard is a world first, and can work with an existing management system, such as an environmental management system, or a quality management system.

Why is the ISO 45001 standard important?

The ISO 45001 standard symbolises a change in how health and safety have previously been managed. The OHSAS 18001 standard was the internationally used standard (with AS/NZS 4801 being used in Australia and New Zealand).

The old systems were more focused on risks and related mostly to the workers in an organisation. In the new standard, organisations will need to look at both risks and opportunities, and also view the health and safety of workers holistically, including considering wellness and wellbeing as part of the system.

Australian businesses are regulated quite heavily by WHS legislation, so many businesses already have a solid foundation to become ISO 45001 compliant.

What are the key things to know about ISO 45001?

The very fact ISO 45001:2018 has been developed by ISO indicates this standard will have a holistic approach to developing health and safety systems.

The standard provides a clear framework for businesses to develop a framework for workplace health & safety, which will be measurable and include checks to ensure the business is committed to continually improving their system. The focus, as with other management systems, is on leadership and shared responsibility for the development and the implementation of the standard.

This system aligns with the other High-Level Structure standards which have been developed by ISO. This means there are ten clauses in the standard, which are:

  • Scope
  • Normative references
  • Terms and definitions
  • Context of the organisation
  • Leadership
  • Planning
  • Support
  • Operation
  • Performance Evaluation
  • Improvement

There are of course subclauses and sub-subclauses – 43 in total. For more information on these clauses, and what they mean, contact our team today.

When do I need to migrate from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001?

Businesses will have three years to migrate from OHSAS 18001 to the new standard. This is plenty of times for organisations to discuss changes and identify any gaps between their old system and the new one.

How can BusinessBasics help my business with ISO 45001?

BusinessBasics can help your business prepare for migrating to the new standard. This may involve our team completing a gap analysis to identify areas of non-compliance. Our team will also help you develop a plan to address any areas of non-compliance, including the development of those new systems and processes, and training your staff so they know how to use the new system.

An internationally recognised standard of health and safety in the workplace is a huge opportunity for businesses of all shapes and sizes to prove their commitment to health and safety in the workplace. Talk to our team today if your business would like to become ISO 45001:2018 compliant. We would like to help.